

British Society of Gastrointestinal and Abdominal Radiology Imaging and Intervention in the care of Abdominal Disease



"BSGAR is committed to being an inclusive and supportive organisation for all members. The recent report published by the Working Party on Sexual Misconduct in Surgery highlighting sexual harassment including physical assault and rape in the workplace will have affected many radiologists, either directly or as witnesses to the testimony of friends and colleagues. This will be a difficult time for some, bringing back memories of traumatic personal experiences and times where the support you needed was not provided to you. It has also forced some of us to reflect on how widespread this issue may be in Radiology, our own hospitals and departments, and if there are cultures which facilitate this.

There is no place for harassment in any form in our specialty. We want to assure you of the unequivocal support of the whole BSGAR organisation.

For others this may have shone a spotlight on a horrific aspect of professional life they either did not know existed or did not appreciate was still an issue. This is real and it is present now and just as relevant to Radiology as other specialities.

We strongly encourage you to read the <u>article</u>, ignorance is no longer an excuse.

We are each responsible for looking out for our colleagues, in all healthcare specialities and disciplines. This requires vigilance, a culture and processes which enable us to challenge and act when we experience or witness discriminatory and misogynistic behaviour in any form, physical or otherwise. It is unacceptable and cannot be tolerated. We can each be a catalyst for change but only if we act and stop tolerating the behaviours which negatively impact so many.

The BSGAR committee are ready and eager to work with other organisations to gather information and produce a transparent action plan so that there is accountability for all. We must identify this as a moment where we act in unison and make this change happen."

BSGAR Executive Committee & BSGAR Membership and Diversity subcommittee

Damian Tolan	Maira Hameed	Ingrid Britton	Sharan Wadhwani
Nehal Shah	Ben Rea	Christopher Clarke	Ian Zealley
Kieran Foley	Carmelo Corallo	Ravivarma Balasubramaniam	
Anu Obaro	Charlie Lane	Anmol Gangi	Li Wong